Until further order of the court, voters are not required to show photo ID. The law was enjoined by a federal district court on December 31, 2019. This page will be updated if new information becomes available.

The Board of Elections is responsible for conducting all national, state, county and municipal elections. The Board is composed of five members. Two members are appointed from each major political party. The Governor appoints a chairperson.

The Board will have monthly meetings every 1st Thursday of each month at 5 pm at the Elections Office. Please contact the Board of Elections office to confirm the monthly Board meeting schedule.

The Lenoir County Board of Elections is located at 110C S. Herritage Street, Kinston, North Carolina, 28501. Current statistics of the Lenoir County Board of Elections indicate there are 35,567 registered voters.




Poll worker Image








Steve Hines

Steve Hines

Lenoir County Board of Elections
Fax: 252-523-3472

Physical Address:
110-C South Herritage Street
Kinston, NC 28501

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Friday: 8:30am – 5:00pm

Director: Steve Hines
Deputy Director: Amy Morgan
Elections Specialist: Courtney Garner
Office Assistant: Veronica Miller

Board Members:
Courtney M. Patterson, Chairman
Ella Clark, Secretary
Tommy Pharo, Member
Bob Patterson, Member
Lucinda Minges, Member